Nepali Congress’ seal on by-election candidates

Kathmandu, March 11:

Dr Shekhar Koirala, Prez’s son get ticket.

With less than a month left for by-election in six vacant CA seats, political parties have started

finalising their candidates.

The Nepali Congress today said Dr Shekhar Koirala will contest the polls in Morang-7, Jagannath Ganagai in Morang-5, Yagya Raj Joshi in Kanchanpur-4, Ganga Ram Dagi in Rolpa-1, Deepak Gurung in Kaski-1 and Chandra Mohan Yadav in Dhanusha-5.

Chandra Mohan Yadav is the son of President Dr Ram Baran Yadav.

The Unified CPN-Maoist had finalised the names of four candidates yesterday.

CPN-UML, MJF and other parties are doing ground work to select their candidates.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission said it was ready to hold the by-election in six constituencies — Kanchanpur-4, Rolpa-2, Kaski-1, Morang-5 and 7 and Dhanusha-5 — on April 10.

Spokesperson for the commission Udhav Prasad Baskota said, “We have completed almost all preparation for the election and our staff are heading to the fields to educate voters.” The commission has already finalised the voters’ list in all constituencies. It has already publicised election schedule.

According the schedule, the candidates will have to file their nomination on March 14. The first list of candidates will be published on March 15. The final list of the candidates will be published on March 19 once the candidates willing to withdraw their nomination do it in between. The EC has also prepared a code of conduct for the political parties and the candidates.

The commission will use Electronic Voting Machines in all constituencies. Baskota said the use of EVMs would eliminate the chances of irregularities during voting and speed up vote counting. He said despite wide illiteracy among the voters, they can easily learn about using the machine.

The Election Commission has mobilised nearly 4,000 government staff to conduct the polls. A total of 490 voting booths will be set up for the by-election.