New woman ward members resign

Jhapa, February 4:

A woman member of ward number 15 of Bhadrapur Municipality, Ambika Giri, who was elected unopposed, issued a statement today stating that she has resigned from the post.

Giri, in the statement said she resigned from the post due to social pressure. Those elected unopposed are being kept under tight security shell at Bhadrapur, Chandragadhi.

In Ilam, woman ward member of ward number two of Ilam municipality, Maya Devi Bhattarai, today resigned from the post six days after being elected unopposed. She said she has never done politics and she doesn’t know what a ward member means. She added that she had not filed for the candidacy and that she would not be able to remain in the post.

Her husband is the nominated member of Ilam District Development Committee. The unopposed elected officials of Ilam municipality have already been sworn in for their posts.