Three newly appointed ministers of Lumbini government took oath of office and secrecy today before the Province Chief Dharmanath Prasad Yadav.

The Province Chief administered oath to Minister of Health and Population Bhoj Prasad Shrestha, Minister of Internal Affairs and Law Chet Narayan Acharya and Minister of Education and Social Development Dharma Bahadur Lal Shreewastav in the presence of Chief Minister Shankar Pokhrel.

The chief minister yesterday reconstituted the Province Council of Ministers in accordance with Article 168(1) of the constitution and inducted the three new ministers into his government.

Similarly, a meeting of the Council of Ministers held today decided to reschedule the Investment Summit for upcoming November 13-14. Earlier, the event was scheduled for May 20-21. Originally, the event was planned for last year and was put off due to the COVID-19 pandemic, said government Spokesperson Baijanath Chaudhary.

Moreover, the meeting agreed to release Rs 7.9 million for carrying out anti-COVID responsive works in all 12 districts of the province. According to Economic Affairs and Planning Minister Chaudhary, the budget will be sent to the District Disaster Management Committees to build holding centres along the border areas and take other preventive measures against the virus.

He said, Rupandehi and Banke are to receive Rs one million each while Kapilvastu will get Rs 800,000, Nawalparasi ( Bardghat Susta Paschim), Dang, and Bardiya Rs 700,000 each and Rukum East, Rolpa, Arghakhanchi, Gulmi and Palpa Rs 500,000 each.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 6, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.