Quake-hit households in 17 more districts to get NRA grant

KATHMANDU: The National Reconstruction Authority (NRA) has decided to start distributing government grant for house reconstruction in 17 more districts that were affected by the April-May 2015 Nepal earthquake.

A meeting of the NRA chaired by its CEO Dr Govinda Raj Pokharel took decision to this effect today.

The NRA has already distributed the first tranche of housing grant to 96 per cent of earthquake-hit households in the 14 higly affected districts -- Sindhupalchok, Okhaldhunga, Nuwakot, Ramechhap, Gorkha, Dhading, Kavrepalanchok, Rasuwa, Sindhuli, Makawanpur, Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur.

A total of 15,743 households will get Rs 50,000 each through banking channel as the first instalment of reconstruction assistance from the NRA, the NRA said in a statement.

The 17 districts that witnessed loss in the devastating Nepal earthquake sequence are Myagdi, Baglung, Parbat, Gulmi, Arghakhanchi, Parbat, Syangja, Palpa, Lamjung, Tanahun, Nawalparasi, Chitwan, Solukhumbu, Khotang, Bhojpur, Dhankuta and Sankhuwasabha.