Neutral probe demanded

SURKHET: The civic society and human rights activists of the Surkhet district have demanded neutral probe into the December 23 incident where 31 families of Rakam village were displaced due to crossfire between the Maoists and the security forces. Federation of the mid-western Dalit nongovernmental organisations, FNJ-Surkhet, Dalit Service Association and Inoformal Sector Service Centre among others jointly issued a statement on Saturday condemning the incident. It has asked compensation to those injured in the Maoist attack at Dhuliyabir check post in the outskirt of Birendranagar on January 12. It has criticised both the warring parties of not taking measures to minimise the loss of lives and properties.

Maoists set ablaze jeep

BHAIRAHAWA: The Maoists wrecked and set ablaze a jeep on Friday. The jeep carrying alcohol was on its way to Suryapura Bazaar in Rupandehi. The Maoists asked the driver and the passangers of the jeep to get off and set ablaze the vehicle, it is reported.

Man falls to death

TANAHUN: One 28-year-old man died after falling from a tree here on Saturday afternoon. The man was identified as Ram Lal Shrestha of Dubhang, Jamune VDC-9 of Tanahun district. Shrestha died while undergoing treatment at Damauli Hospital, District Police Office Tanahun said.

Scribe awarded

BIRATNAGAR: Vice-chancellor of the BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Dr Lok Bikram Thapa handed over the Eastern Regional Anti-Corruption Journalism Award-2003 to Nepal Samacharpatra correspondent Shambhu Bhandari at a function organised here on Saturday. The award carrying a purse of Rs 11,101 was presented by Transparency International Nepal Assistance group, Biratnagar for the anti-corruption research oriented journalism practised by Bhandari. RSS

Civil servants felicitated

POKHARA: Community Services Centre

District Coordination Committee, Syangja, and Sahara Group felicitated five civil servants of various offices at Putalibazaar on

Friday for sincerely discharging their duties and serving the people. Those felicitated are Dr Ramji Ghimire, Hari Aryal, Cholakanta Regmi, Dayaram Lamichhaney and Harikala Doranga. RSS