Only 5.5 per cent female candidates in Kavre

Kavre, November 4

Of a total 70 candidates who have filed their nominations for the upcoming parliamentary and provincial assembly polls, four are females candidates that make up only 5.5 per cent female participation in the poll, in Kavre district, in contrast with the constitutional provision that guarantees 33 per cent reservation for women in every state organ.

Major political parties, including Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre, have not fielded any female candidate for the parliamentary election in the district. In total, 71 candidates have filed their nominations for two seats in the House of Representatives and four seats in the provincial assembly in the district.

Data at the district election office show that fringe parties have, instead, accorded priority to women in the district.

For the parliamentary election, 12 political parties, including one independent candidate, have registered candidacy for a seat in the House of Representatives from Constituency No 2 in the district.

Likewise, 18 political parties, including two independents, have filed their nominations for parliamentary seat in Constituency No 1 of the district.

For the provincial assembly election in Constituency No 1 ‘Kha’, Nepal Workers and Peasants’ Party has given ticket to Chandika Chhunka and Deshbhakta Janaganatantrik Morcha Nepal to Shobha Biswokarma.

In Constituency No 2, CPN-MC’s Bamdhowaj Tamang and UML’s Gokul Baskota are vying for one parliamentary seat. CPN-MC’s Ratna Dhakal and UML’s Chandra Lama,  Laxman Lamsal, and Basundhara Humagain are also in the fray for the provincial assembly polls in Constituency No 1 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’  and Constituency No 2 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’.

NC’s Tirtha Lama and Madhu Prasad Acharya are candidates for parliamentary election in Constituency No 1 and 2 respectively. Likewise, Chandra Bahadur Lama, Ganesh Lama, Sundarmani Acharya and Kanchan Chandra Wade from the party are contesting the provincial assembly poll in the district.