Panel formed to boycott elections

Charikot, January 18:

The town committee of the CPN-UML in Bhimeshor Municipality of Dolakha district has formed a 151-member committee to actively boycott the municipal polls in the municipality. The municipal polls are slated for February 8.

District secretary of the party Shiva Prasad Bhandari said poll boycott committees would also be formed in each wards of the municipality and activists of the party would be mobilised to boycott the polls. The party has also decided to launch door-to-door campaign, wall painting and pamphlets distribution campaign to urge people to boycott the polls. Party’s sister organisations — ANNFSU, All Nepal Farmers’ Association, All Nepal Women’s Association, Mukti Samaj and Jana Sanskritik Manch — would be mobilised for the same.

Likewise, the vice-president of the Dolakha district committee of the Nepali Congress Ved Bahadur KC said the party’s district committee is going to organise a door-to-door campaign against the civic elections.