Phase II civic poll results coming in

Kathmandu, June 29

The Nepali Congress panel has emerged victorious at Arun Rural Municipality, Bhojpur in the second phase of civic polls held today. NC’s Nagendra Khatri was elected ward chairperson garnering 582 votes while his nearest rival CPN-UML’s Jeevan Tamang obtained 466 votes. CPN-Maoist Centre’s Bimal Khadka obtained only 107 votes.

Likewise, NC’s Rudra Bahadur Pandey’s panel won the election at ward 1 of Pauwadumma Rural Municipality while CPN-MC’s Manoj Rai was elected chairperson at Ram Prasad Rai Rural Municipality Ward 8. NC’s Sahadev Rai’s panel was elected at ward 1 of the rural municipality. Similarly, CPN MC’s Bishnu Bhujel and CPN UML’s Kumar Rai emerged victorious at Wards 1 and 2 of Bhojpur Municipality respectively.

The candidate of the CPN-MC-UML alliance defeated the NC candidate at Tumbeba Rural Municipality in Panchthar. CPN-MC’s Devendra Khatri garnered 507 votes against NC’s Hom Thapa (425) for the chairperson’s post. CPN-UML candidate Dhan Sawa garnered 449 votes and won the deputy chairperson’s post at the rural municipality. Of the 100 wards in the local units of Dang, all the CPN-MC candidates won the five wards, while NC and UML won one ward each. CPN-MC won elections at Rapti Rural Municipality Ward 9, Gadhawa Rural Municipality Ward 8, Wards 9 and 2 of Rajpur Rural Municipality and Shantinagar Rural Municipality Ward 1. The Nepali Congress panel won Bangalachuli Ward 1 and UML won Dangisharan Ward 1.

CPN-MC’s Rim Bahadur Sunari was elected Chairperson of Rapti Rural Municipality Ward 9, Saddham Siddhiki’s panel won Gadhawa Ward 8, Bishnu Bahadur Budha’s panel won Rajpur Rural Municipality Ward 1. Similarly, CPN-MC’s Durga Prasad Sharma and Junga Bahadur Pun were elected chairperson of Rajpur Ward 2 and Shantinagar Ward 1 respectively. NC’s panel led by Padam Bahadur Khatri won the polls at Bangalachuli Ward 1 while the CPN-UML panel led by Shree Prasad Chaudhary was elected at Dangisharan Rural Municipality Ward 1 in Dang. Nepali Congress panel emerged victorious at K I Singh Rural municipality Ward 1 in Doti in the second phase of civic polls held yesterday.NC’s Krishna Bahadur Bam was elected chairperson garnering 324 votes at the ward.

CPN-UML candidates’ panels have been elected at three wards in the polls in Udaypur. The UML candidates at Taplipokhari Wards 1 and 2 and Ward 1 of Rautamai Rural Municipality emerged victorious in all the posts, said Chief District Officer Kali Prasad Parajuli. Govinda Bikram Sen was elected chairperson at Taplipokhari Ward 1; Dharmadhwaj Rai was elected in Ward 2 and Rudra Bahadur Karki won Ward 1 of Rautamai Rural Municipality respectively. Earlier, Tilu Maya BK was elected member at ward 1 of Rautamai Rural Municipality unopposed.

Nepali Congress candidate Ashok Rai was elected chairperson of Khalsa Chhintang Shahidbhumi Rural Municipality Ward 1 in Dhankuta. Four UML candidates were elected members while three candidates of the Nepali Congress, including the chairperson emerged victorious at the ward.