Kathmandu, November 12:

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs KP Oli today and Prime Minister GP Prasad Koirala today discussed the appointment of ambassadors to 13 countries.

“DPM Oli and the PM discussed the proposed candidates for one hour this morning and the names are almost finalised,” a source told this daily.

According to him, the would be ambassadors are — Surya Kiran Gugung, currently the General Secretary of the Parliament, to the United States; Dr Suresh Chalise, special advisor to PM for foreign affairs, to the United Kingdom, and Saileja Acharya, a NC central working committee member, to India.

Likewise the career diplomats like Pradip Khatiwada is selected for Bangladesh, Hira Bahadur Thapa for France, Dinesh Bhattarai for Belgium and European Union. Rest of the candidates are those who are close to different parties, including Surya Kanta Mishra for Myanmar, Sahana Pradhan for Russia, Dr Madhu Ghimire for Thailand, Bal Bahadur Kuwar for Pakistan and Amit Ansari for Saudi Arabia. The names for Japan and China could not be obtained.

He also claimed that the next cabinet meeting would pass the proposed names and then the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee led by MP Asta Laxmi Shakya would begin the hearing on the names.