PR vote count concludes, UML largest party in parliament

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission of Nepal has concluded the vote counting process for votes received under the Proportional Representation electoral system for all 77 districts that went into the recently held Federal Parliament and Provincial elections.

As per the latest and the final result, CPN-UML has registered a victory in the PR results with 3,173,494 votes. Earlier, the party was also declared a winner in the first-past-the-post vote count with 80 parliamentary and 168 provincial seats.

With this, UML is formally set to become the largest party in the Federal Parliament.

Nepali Congress finished as a close second in the PR results with 3,128,389 votes. However, it failed to garner the same result in the FPTP results where only 23 seats for House of Representatives and 41 State Assembly seats were secured by the party.

CPN Maoist centre received less than half of both leading parties in the PR count whereas it won 36 Parliamentary and 73 Provincial seats.

Other than the CPN-UML, NC and the CPN MC, only Federal Socialist Forum Nepal and Rashtriya Janata Party Nepal have crossed the threshold, securing their presence in the House of Representatives as National Parties.

Of those parties that could not get through the three percent threshold, Bibeksheel Sajha Party garnered 212,363 votes whereas the Rashtriya Prajatantra Party got 196,782 votes, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Democratic received 88,377 votes while Naya Shakti Party got 81,837 votes under the PR system.

Likewise, Rastriya Janamorcha garnered 62,133 votes while 355,190 votes were shared by other parties that had contested the elections.

Rashtriya Prajatantra Party and Naya Shakti Party, who have each won a seat through the FPTP electoral system, will now admit their representatives to the Parliament as independent members.