Preparations for Indian PM Modi’s visit over

Janakpurdham, May 10

All the necessary preparations including stage decoration to welcome Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the two-day-official-state visit slated for May 11 and 12 are over in Janakpurdham.

Physical Infrastructure Minister of Province 2 Jitendra Sonal confirmed that the preparation was over for Modi’s visit.

People are banned from entering Barhabigha, the venue where Indian PM Modi will receive civic felicitation and security has been beefed up. A large number of personnel of Nepali Army, Nepal Police and Indiansecurity agency have been mobilised in the area. As many as 45 special Indian security personnel to provide security to Modi have arrived in Janakpurdham while several others are yet to come.

A separate security personnel team has been mobilised for the security of Indian PM Modi’s helicopter, which will land at Janakpur Airport while Nepali Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli’s helicopter will land on the premises of the Federal Police Unit Office.

Both the PMs are scheduled to visit Janaki Temple via Muralichowk to Ramanandachowk.

All the house owners on both sides of the road have urged to vacate their roofs where the personnel of security forces will be deployed for security. More than 7,000 security personnel are said to be deployed for the same. The office of the chief minister has managed passes for VIPs.

Province 2 Chief Minister Lalbabu Raut is scheduled to chair the civic felicitation of Indian PM Modi and the programme will be conducted in Hindi language.

Minister of Defence Ishwar Pokhrel will deliver a welcome speech while Janakpur sub-metropolis Mayor Lal Kishor Sah will felicitate Modi in Maithili and also offer him the felicitation letter written in Hindi, English and Nepali.

Chief Minister Lalbabu Raut is scheduled to conclude the felicitation programme in Hindi. However, the government of Nepal has exerted pressure not to use Hindi language on the stage.

Meanwhile, Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal Chairperson Upendra Yadav, Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal Coordinator Mahantha Thakur, Minister Raghubir Mahaseth, CPN-Maoist Centre’s Matrika Yadav and Nepali Congress Vice-president Bimalendra Nidhi will also attend the function.