Probe into pre-poll violence begins today

Kathmandu, May 21:

Three separate inquiry commissions formed to investigate criminal activities in the run-up to the election to the Constituent Assembly are set to begin their work tomorrow, some 45 days after the incidents occurred.

The probe panels begin work after they take oath of office from Chief Justice Kedar Prasad

Giri tomorrow.

The Supreme Court will organise an oath-taking ceremony tomorrow where the CJ will administer oath of office to the chairmen of the three panels formed to investigate the pre-election incidents that occurred in Dang, Kapilvastu, Surkhet, Sarlahi, Sunsari and Solukhumbu districts.

The commission members can assume office only after taking oath.

“We did not delay the functioning of the commissions,” assistant spokesperson for the Supreme Court, Hemanta Rawal said.

The government had formed the separate panels under the chairmanship of Judge Purusottam Parajuli to investigate the killing of Rishi Raj Sharma, a CPN-UML candidate for the CA election in Surkhet.

Judge Govinda Kumar Shrestha-led panel is assigned to probe the Dang incident where seven Maoists were killed a day before of the April 10 Constituent Assembly election. Policemen had fired shots at Maoists during a scuffle in Dang on the eve of the election.

Another commission headed by deputy attorney general Pushpa Raj Koirala will investigate the Kapilvastu incident, in which an independent CA candidate was killed.

The Koirala-led investigation commission is also assigned to look into the pre-election violence

in Sarlahi, Sunsari and Solukhumbu districts where independent candidates were killed and Nepali Congress cadres were severely beaten up in the run-up to the election.