All Province 2 candidates elected to NA

Janakpurdham, January 28

All the candidates for National Assembly were elected unanimously in Province 2.

As many as four candidates had filed their candidacy for three seats under the single transferable voting system for the NA election that is scheduled to be held on February 7.

Chief Election Officer Radha Krishna Uprety of Province 2 said three candidates were elected unanimously after one of the candidates Mohammad Akthar Husain from Nepal Federal Socialist Party withdrew his candidacy yesterday. Uprety said yesterday was the deadline to withdraw candidacy. He informed that Ramesh Yadav, Jitendra Dev and Suman Pyakurel were elected.

Earlier, Brisesh Chandra Lal from minority and three other women — Mukta Yadav, Sashikala Dahal and Pramila Yadav from women; and Ramprit Pasman from Dalit quota were elected.

Uprety said the final name list would be published tomorrow. “Unanimously elected candidates will be announced in the final name list,” he informed.

Ramprit Yadav and Pramila Yadav from Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal; Brisesh Chandra Lal and Ramesh Yadav from Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal; Mukta Yadav and Jitendra Dev from Nepali Congress; Suman Pyakurel from CPN-UML and Sashikala Dahal from CPN-Maoist Centre were elected from Province 2.