Nepal | July 05, 2020

Renu Dahal elected mayor of Bharatpur metropolis

It’s said participation of NC cadres who had earlier abstained from voting ensured her victory

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Renu Dahal

Chitwan, August 5

CPN-MC’s mayoral candidate Renu Dahal has bagged Bharatpur Metropolis. She received 43,127 votes against 42,924 votes cast for Devi Prasad Gyawali of CPN-UML.

Nepali Congress’ Parbati Shah won the post of deputy mayor beating her rival Divya Sharma Acharya of the CPN-UML. While Sharma won with 47,197 votes, Acharya received 39,525 votes.

According to Chief Returning Officer Kabi Prasad Neupane, UML, NC and CPN-MC won 14, 12 and three wards of the metropolis respectively. The metropolis has 29 wards.

The metropolis had witnessed electoral alliance between CPN-MC and Nepali Congress for the top two posts, according to which, the former had fielded Renu Dahal, daughter of CPN-MC Chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal for the post of mayor while the latter had fielded Parbati Shah as the deputy mayoral candidate.

Election was held earlier in the metropolis on May 14 in the first round of civic polls. However, some CPN-MC representatives had torn ballot papers on the night of May 28 when vote counting was on, subsequently leading to a halt in vote counting. Of the 29 wards in the metropolis vote counting had been completed in 27. Counting was under way for Ward No 19 when the incident happened.

Following the incident, police had arrested CPN-MC representatives Madhu Neupane and Dronababu Siwakoti. A case was filed against them at the Chitwan District Court. They were later released on bail of 1 lakh rupees each. In the wake of the incident, NC and CPN-MC sought re-election in the ward, but the UML sought continuation of the vote counting process.

The Election Commission had ruled re-election in the ward, but the issue reached the Supreme Court after a case was filed challenging the EC’s decision. The apex court upheld the EC’s decision clearing the way for re-election in Ward No 19, which took place yesterday.

Prior to the re-election in Ward No 19, Gyawali was leading with a difference of 733 votes. However, by the time vote counting had completed in both wards 19 and 20, Renu had taken the lead.

It is said Dahal’s victory was possible after NC cadres who had abstained from voting earlier took part in the re-election this time.

About the mayor elect

  • Born on 5 July, 1976, in Bhimsennagar of then Shivanagar VDC of Chitwan
  • Second child of Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Sita Dahal.
  • Joined Maoist party in 1994-1995 before going underground the following year.
  • Former All India Nepali Women Organisation central committee chairperson
  • Assistant in-charge of Maoist party for Rolpa district during the insurgency
  • Currently, general secretary of All Nepal Women Association-Revolutionary. Also a CPN-MC politburo member.
  • Former lawmaker from proportional category in the first Constituent Assembly
  • Candidate from Kathmandu Constituency No 1 in the second CA election
  • Married to Arjun Pathak, an entrepreneur in Chitwan
  • Has one daughter and one son

A version of this article appears in print on August 06, 2017 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Locusts devour crops on 1,100 hectares

KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Desert locusts have damaged crops cultivated on 1,100 hectares of land across the country. According to the Locusts Information Centre, eight districts have reported damage caused by locusts till date. Of them, Dang is the worst hit and Palpa the least. The locusts devoure Read More...

World Bank elevates Nepal to ‘lower middle income economy’

Country saw its GNI per capita rise to $1,090 in 2019, but economists says it doesn’t mean much in terms of development KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Nepal is now officially a lower-middle income country, an upgrade from its previous status as low income nation, according to the World Bank’s latest coun Read More...

Oli, Dahal in bid to save NCP unity

If the two co-chairs fail to act as per the spirit of the party unity document, maintaining party unity will be difficult  - NCP leader Mani Thapa KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Co-chairs of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) — Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli — held talks for thr Read More...

Kailali's Bhajani Municipality, Joshipur Rural Municipality inundated

KAILALI, JULY 3 Bhajani and Joshipur of Kailali have been inundated after floodwaters gushed into the settlements. According to eyewitnesses, many houses in Wards 2, 3, 6 and 8 of Bhajani Municipality have been inundated. Local Ganga Chaudhary said floodwaters from local Kandra and Kadha ri Read More...

Ministry develops guidelines for rehab centres

KATHMANDU, JULY 3 The Ministry of Women, Children and Senior Citizens has developed guidelines for operation of rehabilitation centres to ensure that vulnerable persons at the centres do not contract COVID-19. MoWCSC said the new guidelines would be effective until Nepal was declared coronavir Read More...

Nepali Congress Ram Chandra Paudel

Country pushed into crisis: Paudel

DAMAULI, JULY 3 Senior Nepali Congress leader Ramchandra Paudel said sudden prorogation of the Parliament was unfortunate for the nation. “At a time when the nation is fighting a deadly disease, the decision to prorogue the Parliament has pushed the country further into the crisis,” said t Read More...

Holding centre in Khotang

KHOTANG, JULY 3 A 10-bed holding centre has been established in Diktel, the district headquarters of Khotang, for returnees. According to Chief District Officer and District COVID-19 Crisis Management Centre coordinator Shaligram Sharma Poudel, Nepali Army personnel and Red Cross staff jointly Read More...

Visit Nepal 2020 mascot, yeti

Former Visit Nepal secretariat seeks more budget from Tourism Ministry

KATHMANDU, JULY 3 Even after the government has scrapped the secretariat of the Visit Nepal 2020 campaign, the secretariat has submitted more unpaid bills to the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation (MoCTCA). Addressing a press meet today to unveil the ministry’s work progress dur Read More...