Himalayan News Service

Rautahat, March 16:

Six district-level leaders of the Nepali Congress and CPN-UML, who were arrested on March 12 during a demonstration against the February 1 royal move, have been sent to three months in prison.

Security forces had arrested altogether 21 local leaders to control the protest rally and 15 were released on Tuesday while six were sent to the Gaur jail. CDO Mukunda Prasad Dhakal said the imprisoned included Nepali Congress Rautahat president Mohammed Aftab Alam, Binda Sahani, Dev Prasad Timilsina and NCP-UML’s Rajendra Patel, Rewant Jha and Shyam Sundar Patel.

He said they were taken under control for investigation, as they staged a demonstration against the spirit of the royal proclamation.