District Committee Chairs close to Nepal-Khanal group replaced by others supporting Prime Minister Oli led faction of CPN-UML


The CPN-UML chaired by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has sacked six district committee chairs of Sudur Pashchim Province belonging to the Nepal-Khanal faction, on Saturday.

Six of the nine district committee chairs were leaders supporting the party faction led by senior leaders Madhav Kumar Nepal and Jhalanath Khanal, before their positions were seized.

CPN-UML's provincial committee has forwarded letters containing the names of district chairs and secretaries to all the nine districts of the province, mentioning 'until further notice'.

Kanchanpur district committee chair Tara Lama Tamang, who is close to the Nepal-Khanal faction, was replaced by Bir Bahadur Thapa, who had entered CPN-UML from the Maoist Centre.

Similarly, Kailali district committee chair Dirgha Sodari (also close to Nepal-Khanal faction) was replaced by Ratan Thapa, Tara Joshi was replaced by Prakash Saud in Dadeldhura, Chakra Malla was replaced by Ram Bahadur Air in Doti, Sher Bahadur Kunwar was replaced by Chandra Bohara in Achham, and Dil Bahadur Singh by Afilal Okheda in Bajhang.

On the other hand, Surendra Pal in Baitadi, Ramdatta Joshi in Darchula, and Lal Bahadur Shahi in Bajura -- all of whom are close to the Oli faction -- continue to hold their post of district committee chair.

In addition to this, majority of leaders belonging to the Oli faction is also noticeable in the UML's provincial committee, as now seen in the district committees.

However, Sudur Pashchim Provincial Assembly member Dirgha Sodari, who has been sacked from his position as the district committee chair, shared that this kind of monopolistic action by the provincial committee is not acceptable. According to him, elected chairs cannot be replaced by anyone.

Similarly, Provincial Assembly member Tara Lama Tamang of Kanchanpur shared that this step, which was taken without discussion in the party and without coordination, will hamper the party itself.

To this, CPN-UML Sudur Pashchim Province Chair Karna Thapa said that they were just carrying out their responsibility from earlier to manage the provincial committee. He added that the provincial committee is not taking any action against the district chairs and they still remain in the party.