Six types of ballot papers for local level elections

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission is preparing six types of ballot papers for the upcoming local level elections slated for May 14.

Six types of the ballot papers, small or big, will be printed as different political parties have been registered to participate in the polls, said the Commission Spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma. The highest number of political parties- 47- has been registered in Kathmandu for the elections, whereas Manang has the fewest- only 7.

The printing of ballot papers will start within a day or two, said the Commission, adding that Janak Education Materials Centre has been contracted for the print.

Approximately 21,000 election centers are estimated to be set up for around 14 million voters. The polls are vied for the total posts of 36,639 at 744 local units including 481 rural municipalities, 246 municipalities, 13 sub-metropolitan cities and four metropolitan cities and 6,680 wards across the nation.