Small margins making all the difference

Dhangadi/Biratnagar/Dang, July 2

According to the results of the second phase of civic polls till today evening, mayoral and rural municipality chief candidates have won and lost polls with very narrow margin of votes.

CPN-UML candidate Harka Bahadur Saud won the post of chief with a difference of one vote in Chaurpati Rural Municipality, Achham. He defeated NC candidate Bhim Bahadur Saud with just one vote. Harka Bahadur secured 3,138 votes while Bhim got 3,137 votes. In Okhaldhunga’s Chisankhugadhi Rural Municipality, CPN-Maoist Centre’s Nishant Sharma defeated UML candidate Bhim Bahadur Thapa with a margin of just three votes. Sharma secured 1,906 votes while Thapa got 1,903 votes.

UML candidate Bijay Rai defeated CPN-MC’s Tham Bahadur Rai in Ram Prasad Rai Rural Municipality, Bhojpur. UML’s Rai bagged 2,356 votes while CPN-MC’s Rai received 2,348 votes.

In Triveni Rural Municipality, Taplejung, NC’s Biswonath Sitaula defeated UML’s Laxmi Bahadur Yakso with 13 more votes. While Sitaula got 2,226 votes his nearest rival Yakso received 2,213 votes. UML’s Ram Kumar Sawa won the polls with a margin of 15 votes. NC’s Bhakta Bahadur Karki was defeated in the polls.

NC’s Nabin Bikram Shah won the polls with a margin of 16 votes in Airawati Rural Municipality, Pyuthan. Shah got 2,490 votes while his nearest rival UML’s Tika Bahadur Gurung received 2,474 votes.

UML’s Ngimadorji Sherpa won the polls with 22 more votes in Khumbu Pasanglahamu Rural Municipality, Solukhumbu. He defeated the NC-Maoist Centre alliance’s common candidate Chhungbo Sherpa. NC’s Uddawsingh Thapa won the polls with 23 more votes in Tapli Rural Municipality, Udayapur.

CPN-Maoist Centre’s Arjun Kumar Khadka won the polls with a difference of 35 votes in Sakela Rural Municipality, Khotang. NC candidate Kailash Kumar Ale won the post of mayor with a margin of 36 votes in Bhojpur Municipality, Bhojpur. Ale secured 4,070 votes while his nearest rival Ganesh Shrestha of the UML received 4,034 votes.

NC’s Karnasingh Saud won the polls with 37 more votes in Shivnath Rural Municipality, Baitadi. NC’s Padam Bahadur Baduwal defeated his rival Gagan Bahadur Rawal of the UML with a margin of 38 votes at Bajura’s Badimalika Rural Municipality.

UML candidate Dhirgha Bogati defeated his rival with a margin of 47 votes at Doti’s Purbachauki Rural Municipality.

NC’s Rajendra Bohora won the polls with a difference of 48 votes at Bajhang’s Kanda Rural Municipality. UML candidate Ratmna Subba was elected with margin of 57 votes at Sankhuwasabha’s Sabhapokhari Rural Municipality.

UML candidate Dhrubaraj Rai was elected with a margin of 58 votes at Bhojpur’s Teyamkemaiyu Rural Municipality. NC’s Mahes Rai won the polls with difference of 63 votes at Bhojpur’s SalpaSilichho Rural Municipality.

UML candidate Lal Bahadur Bista won the polls with a margin of 64 votes at Bajhang’s Talkot Rural Municipality.