CPN-UML Sudurpaschim Province parliamentary party meeting today decided not to withdraw its support to the provincial government led by the CPN-Maoist Centre.

The CPN-UML parliamentary party meeting decided to continue the party's support to the government-led by Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta of the CPN- MC. "Keeping in view the soaring COVID cases, we have decided to continue our support to the government and hold further discussion with all the parties regarding this," said CPN-UML Province lawmaker Purna Joshi.

Earlier, a meeting of the CPN- UML Standing Committee had decided to withdraw support to the provincial government. Contrary to the party's decision, the meeting of the parliamentary party presided over by CPN- UML Sudurpaschim Parliamentary Party leader and Minister of Internal Affairs and Law Prakash Shah decided to continue support to the government. With this decision, the provincial government led by CM Trilochan Bhatta has got a new lifeline.

A total of 21 lawmakers had participated in the meeting. The UML has 25 lawmakers, including the speaker in the province.

Three lawmakers - Ratan Thapa, Gyalbu Bohora and Liladhar Bhatta abstained from the meeting. They are considered close to Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli.

Meanwhile, CPN-UML Sudurpaschim Province Committee Chair Karna Thapa warned of action against those defying the party's decision to withdraw support to the government.

"The party will take action against lawmakers defying the party decision," Thapa warned.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 27, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.