Task force push to statute-drafting

Kathmandu, December 22:

A meeting of the Constitutional Committee (CC) chaired by senior-most CA member Kul Bahadur Gurung today formed a five-member task force to prepare a report on key areas related to the constitution-drafting committee.

The meeting appointed Nilambar Acharya, Agni Prasad Kharel, Khimlal Devkota, Nilam Barma and Rukmini Chaudhary Tharu as task force members. The task force will determine its jurisdiction, details of work, work schedule and internal working procedure. It will also identify areas of expertise required to the constitutional committee. The task force has been assigned to submit its report to the full committee meeting scheduled for Friday.

Meanwhile, the first meeting of the task force held today organised a general discussion on its assignment. The task force meeting decided to hold its second meeting tomorrow.

CA Chairman Subash Nembang administered the oath of office and secrecy to Pari Thapa, a CA member of CPN-Unified, in the full committee meeting this morning.

Similarly, the second meeting of the CA Committee on Restructuring the State and its Power-sharing discussed its code of conduct, besides its work schedule prepared by the parliament secretariat. The 43-member committee held general discussion on the business schedule and reached a conclusion to develop a methodology to systematically discuss the issues related to state restructuring and power-sharing.

According to its jurisdiction, the Committee on Restructuring the State and Power-sharing will come up with its concept paper on federal, democratic republic; agreed principles and basis of determining the federal units; determining federal territory and suggest names of these federal units as well.

The committee is to suggest the mechanism on power-sharing of legislative, executive

and judicial bodies in the federal units.

The committee will also have to prepare its concept paper on rights of the federal units and a mechanism to resolve disputes between and among the federal units.