The 10th general convention of the main opposition CPN-UML has commenced in Sauraha, today afternoon.

Chair of the party KP Oli is scheduled to inaugurate the ceremony amidst the mass of hundred thousands of party cadres, supporters and other members.

Different groups have also organised Jhaki and rallies and made rounds of the city playing traditional musical instruments before the commencement of the programme.

The convention which lasts till Sunday will elect 210 central committee members and 15 office bearers, including one chairperson, one senior vice-chairperson, four vice-chairpersons, a general secretary, a deputy general secretary, and seven secretaries.

It will also elect 15 office bearers of the Central Disciplinary Commission and 15 office bearers of the Central Accounts Commission.

Chair KP Sharma Oli, Bhim Bahadur Rawal are among the candidates contesting for the chairperson's post.

Meanwhile, leaders from various political parties including Prime Minister and President of Nepali Congress Sher Bahadur Deuba have attended the convention. However, CPN Maoist chief Pushpa Kamal Dahal is apparently giving the event a miss.

Among the participants are NCP (Maoist Centre)) leader Lilamani Pokhrel, Janata Samajbadi Party Chair Upendra Yadav, Loktrantik Samajbadi Party Chair Mahanta Thakur, Rastriya Prajatra Party Chair Kamal Thapa.

Representatives from India, Sri Lanka have also joined the convention to congratulate the party on this special occasion.