Sharma elected HURPES president in Myagdi

MYAGDI: The Ninth District Convention and 15th Annual General Meeting of Human Rights and Peace Society (HURPES) Myagdi chapter concluded in Beni by electing new working committee unopposed on Tuesday.

The convention elected Thakur Prasad Sharma as its president while Nabaraj Poudel in the post of vice president. Likewise, Santosh Gautam, Mukunda Prasad Acharya and Shiva Prasad Subedi were elected the secretary, treasurer and the joint-secretary, respectively.

Hari Prasad Poudel, Santosh Dhungana, Nirmaya Mijar, Bhim Kumari Baniya, Shiva Poudel, Binod Kumar Shrestha and Nabaraj Rijal are the members in the working committee.

It has been learned that the first meeting of the working committee shall appoint three members in the working committee.

During the inaugural session of the convention, speakers said that civil society should be active for the defence of human rights, peace and good governance, and to end violence.