KATHMANDU: Out of 136 local levels in Province 2 for the third phase of local elections, results of 130 units have been announced.

According to the latest update provided by the Joint Election Operation Centre, under the Election Commission, so far the Nepali Congress has won the mayoral post in elections in 37 local levels, Federal Socialist Forum in 25 and CPN Maoist Centre in 21 levels.

Similarly, the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal has secured its positions in 24 local levels, CPN-UML in 17, Nepal Democratic Forum in three and Nepali Janata Dal in two levels. The Naya Shakti Nepal has opened its account in one local level. According to EC Spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal, so far counting of votes has been completed in 1,233 wards.

Result of six local levels are awaited.