Tikapur incident victims receive compensation

Dhangadi, June 16

Authorities in Kailali have started distributing compensation to the victims of vandalism that followed the brutal murder of nine persons, including a minor, in Tikapur during the Tharuhat agitation last year.

According to Chief District Officer of Kailali Govind Rijal, a total of 107.3 million rupees will be distributed to the victims. “As many as 88 victims will receive compensation, the amount ranging from Rs 8,000 to Rs 17.3 million,” he said, adding three persons would get more than 10 million rupees apiece.

Eight security personnel, including then Seti Zonal Police chief Laxman Neupane and a minor were killed in Tikapur during the Tharuhat agitation on August 23, last year, where supporters of the Tharuhat campaign were agitating, seeking a separate province comprising western Tarai districts, including Kanchanpur and Kailali.

Earlier, the government had declared those killed in the incident as martyrs and provided their kin one million rupees each.

Meanwhile, kin of martyrs of the Tikapur incident have accused the government of being biased against them. “There was just one million rupees for those who lost their family member. Now the government is giving away plentiful money to those who did not have to go through the same pain,” they rued.