UCPN-M CC to decide on unity

KATHMANDU: The Standing Committee of the Unified CPN-Maoist on Wednesday decided to call its Central Committee meeting on May 14 to take a call on unity with other Maoist parties.

According to UCPN-M leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha, the meeting formally decided to unite with the Mohan Baidhya-led CPN-Maoist Revolutionary, Matrika Prasad Yadav-led CPN-Maoist and Mani Thapa led Revolutionary Community Party-Nepal.

Shrestha said his party was open to welcome leaders associated with the Netra Bikram Chand-led Maoist party and former Maoist leader Jaypuri Gharti, who is not associated with any party now.

According to Shrestha, other Maoist parties will also hold meetings of their central committee to decide on their merger with the UCPN-M.