UDMF forms three-member task-force

KATHMANDU: The United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) on Tuesday formed a three-member task-force to hold talks with the three major political parties over the 11-point demand put forth by it earlier and resolve the Madhes issues.

The task-force includes Hridayesh Tripathi of the Tarai-Madhesh Democratic Party, Rajendra Shrestha of the Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal and Ram Naresh Yadav of Tarai Madhes Sadbhawana Party, according to a statement issued by Mahantha Thakur.

The task-force, however, does not include representative from the Sadbhawana Party, which has unilaterally announced fresh protest programme. The party has announced that it would not take part in any talks unless the government apologises for the December 26 police action in the Biratnagar border point, in which the party's chairman, Rajendra Mahato, was injured. Mahato is currently hospitalised in India for treatment.

In a tripartite talks held on Sunday, the top leaders of agitating UDMF, main opposition Nepali Congress and ruling CPN-UML and UCPN-Maoist had agreed to form a five member task-force, comprising of three representatives, one each from the major parties, and two from the UDMF.

The UDMF, however, announced a separate task-force. The UDMF leadership is expected to inform Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and top leaders of UCPN-Maoist and Nepali Congress leadership about the decision today itself.

The three constituents of UDMF had held a meeting yesterday and made an understanding to form a separate task-force instead of sending two representatives to the task-force, which would explore how the Constitution can be amended and provincial boundaries be redone as per the Madhesi parties demands in order to resolve the ongoing agitation in the Tarai-Madhes region.

The task-force of the three major parties include Mahesh Acharya of Nepali Congress, Deputy Prime Minister Bhim Rawal of CPN-UML and Krishna Bahadur Mahara of UCPN-Maoist.

Meanwhile, the Legislature-Parliament is currently carrying out the constitution amendment process. After the conclusion of deliberations, Speaker Onsari Gharti has give lawmakers 72 hours to register amendment proposals on on the Bill on First Amendment of Constitution of Nepal yesterday.


Constitution amendment process enters Stage II