UML wins Manang, Mustang seats; Maoist Centre makes clean sweep in Rukum

MANANG/RUKUM: With the votes being counted in 32 districts where first phase of parliamentary and provincial polls were held on November 26, the left alliance has begun its victory march in different constituencies.

According to the chief returning officers who declared the final results, CPN-UML and Maoist Centre have so far won three parliamentary seats.

Meanwhile, Maoist Centre made a clean sweep in Rukum East winning all three seats including two provincial assembly seats. UML won a parliament seat in Manang district while Nepali Congress bagged a provincial seat in the high-hilly district. Former gangster Rajiv Gurung aka Dipak Manange who contested for another provincial seat in Manang also won the elections. Manange, who contested the elections as an independent candidate was backed by the left alliance.

In Mustang, UML also won a parliamentary as well as a provincial seat.


Parliamentary Seat

Provincial seat

Rukum (East)

Kamala Roka (CPN Maoist Centre)

Tej Bahadur Oli, Purna Bahadur Gharti (Maoist Centre)



Prem Prasad Tulachan (UML)

- Indra Dhara Bista (UML)



Polden Chhopang Gurung (UML)

Chinta Bahadur Ghale (NC), Dipak Manange (Independent)