Collection of voters' names in Tanahun is going to begin in a week. For the purpose, teams will be deployed in all 10 local levels.

Information about the campaign to collect voter names here was given at an interaction held by District Election Office today. District Election Officer Hari Prasad Dhakal said the campaign would last about a month.

As informed at the programme, the drive will be conducted from December 3 to 12 in Bhimad Municipality and Ghiring, Devghat, Bandipur and Myagde rural municipalities. A similar drive will start from December 15 and last until December 24 in Rishing and Anbukhaireni rural municipalities and Bhanu and Shuklagandaki municipalities.

In the case of Byas Municipality, however, the locals are required to get their names registered in the district election office or district administration office here.

According to the Election Office, 32 employees will be deployed for the collection of voters' names during the campaign. As per the current data, the district has 229,864 registered voters.

"The voter name list upgradation is important as it will ensure that nobody eligible for voting is missed out and nobody is repeated in the name list," said Chief District Officer Bishwo Prakash Aryal.

A version of this article appears in the print on December 2, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.