National Assembly election underway in six provinces

KATHMANDU: Voting is taking place today from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm for the election to the National Assembly or Upper House of the federal parliament.

Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav has urged the voters to participate in the election without any inhibitions as the government has made reliable security arrangements for the purpose.

The election to the National Assembly is taking place in six provinces today. The NA members from Province 2 have been elected unopposed before this.

24 members have already been elected unopposed in all the provinces. 52 candidates are vying for 32 seats of the National Assembly in the election today.

A total of 1,677 voters including 1,234 local level officials and 443 provincial assembly members of the six provinces are taking part in the election.

The Election Commission said voting will take place at the Office of the Chief Returning Officer in six provinces. The Office has been established at the places where the High Court of each province is located.

(with inputs from Rastriya Samachar Samiti)