A Division League begins today

KATHMANDU: Defending champions Nepal Police Club (NPC) will take on Boys Union Club as the Martyrs Memorial San Miguel A Division Football League — stalled for three years due

to internal conflict — kicks

off here at the Dasharath

Stadium on Saturday.

Although the Constituent Assembly Chairman Subhash Nembang inaugurated the league on February 12, the tournament begins with

two matches, the other being the last edition’s (2006-07) runners-up Tribhuvan Army Club vs Samsung Jawalakhel Youth Club.

The top tier National League of the All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) had been stalled for three years due to the dispute between the football governing body and Nepal Football Association (NFA). The league was possible this year after the two warring groups reached agreement to work together.

The league champions will receive two million rupees and the runners-up will take home one million rupees in the 12-team upper Division league. The teams rounding up from third to eighth place will also get Rs 500,000, Rs 300,000, Rs 200,000, Rs 100,000, Rs 60,000 and Rs 40,000 respectively.

Apart from NPC, BUC, TAC and SJYC, Nabil Three Star Club, Manang Marshyangdi Club, Nepal Armed Police Force Club, Machhindra Club, NIB Friends Club, Sankata Kathmandu Mall Club, New Road Team and Ranipokhari Corner Team are the other clubs vying for the championship to be played in the double-leg format.

The five best individuals — goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, striker and coach — will earn a motorcycle each. ANFA will also reward the best footballer with a car. Three Star’s Upendra Man Singh and NPC’s Hari Khadka won cars in the last two edition of the league.