Abhay wrecks East West

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, January 4:

Baluwatar Cricket Club defeated East West Cricket Club by 139 runs in the Shyam Chaityanya Baba Memorial Winter Trophy Cricket Tournament here today. Batting first after winning the toss at St Xavier’s School, Baluwatar amassed 187 runs losing five wickets in their allotted 30 overs, riding on Shakti Gauchan’s unbeaten half century.

Gauchan hit nine fours and a six in his 61-ball 72, while Sharad Vesawkar scored 34 off 35 balls including four fours and a six. Paras Khadka hit four boundaries in his 29-ball 24.

Rikesh Lama scored 14 runs while Basanta Regmi scored 11 off 22 balls. For East West, Lakpa Lama took two wickets conceding 25 runs in six overs, while Birendra Shah and Manjeet Shrestha claimed one wicket each. In reply, East West were packed off for a paltry 48 runs in just 12 overs. Unil Shrestha was the highest scorer with 12 off eight balls. Anish Aryal scored run-a-ball 11.

For Baluwatar, Abhaya Rana, who missed a hat-trick, was the chief wrecker with 6/23 off six overs. Paras Khadka and Shakti Gauchan claimed two wickets each giving away 14 runs in four overs and seven overs in two overs respectively.

On Wednesday, Mahavir Club will take on Pragatisheel Club in a quarter-final match at the same venue.