ACC TROPHY 2006: Nepal register easy win

Kathmandu, August 16:

Nepal recorded a thumping 281-run win over Bhutan in the ACC Trophy at the Royal Selangar Club in Kuala Lumpur today.

Put into bat first Nepal scored 317-8 in 50 overs before dismissing Bhutan for 36 runs in 18.5 overs. Paras Khadka scored explosive 87 runs off 68 balls while Gyanendra Malla (52) scored second half century of the tournament. Malla scored 79 against Kuwait on Monday.

Opener Paresh Lohani (27) and Malla once again gave Nepal a strong start before Wangchuk broke the partnership trapping Lohani at 67 on board. Sarad Vesawkar and Shakti Gauchan were cheaply dismissed.

Malla then steadied the innings putting on 69-run stand for the fourth wicket with Mehaboob Alam (39) before Khadka took charge of the game. Khadka guided Nepal to a huge total before falling on 87. Mahesh Chhetri scored unbeaten 56 off just 37 balls at the end.

Phuntsho Wangdi took three wicket while Tandin Wangchuk bagged two for Bhutan.

Chasing the 318-run target, Bhutanese batsmen fell one after another to the Nepali opening pace attack of skipper Binod Das and Mehaboob Alam. Man of the match Das completed a five-wicket haul conceding 24 runs off eight overs. Alam finished 3-10 in seven overs. Shakti Gauchan took two wickets giving away just one run in 2.5 overs.



P Lohani lbw b Wangchuk 27

G Malla lbw b Wangchuk 52

S Veshawkar ct D Gurung b Wangdi 0

S Gauchan b Wangdi 0

M Alam lbw b D Gurung 39

P Khadka ct Singhe b Yonten 87

B Regmi lbw b Adhikari 18

B Das c Adhikari b Wangdi 4

M Chhetri not out 56

D Chand not out 0

Extras: 34 (nb 3, w 26, lb 5)

Total: 317/8 (50 overs)

FoW: 1-67, 2-73, 3-73, 4-142, 5-142, 6-196, 7-210, 8-303

Bhutan bowling: L Yonten 9-1-48-1, D Gurung 10-1-61-1, T Wangchuk 10-1-33-2, P Wangdi 10-0-60-3, J Singe 1-0-24-0, M Adhikari 6-0-40-1, B Gurung 4-0-45-0


Tashi lbw b Alam 0

T Wangchuk ct Chhetri b Das 3

M Adhikari ct Lohani b Das 1

T Dorji b Das 1

D Gurung c Lohani b Das 0

BS Luitel c Shard b Alam 14

P Wangdi c Malla b Alam 2

J Singhe b Gauchan 3

B Gurung b Das 0

TW Dorje not out 0

L Yonten c Alam b Gauchan 0

Extras: 11 (w 11)

Total: 36 (18.5 overs)

FoW: 1-0, 2-3, 3-5, 4-6, 5-11, 6-20,7-30, 8-32, 9-36

Nepal bowling: M Alam 7-3-10-3, B Das 8-0-24-5, S Gauchan 2.5-1-1-2, RK Pradhan 1-0-1-0