‘A’ Division Football League resumes today

Kathmandu, January 3:

The second leg of the Martyrs Memorial San Miguel ‘A’ Division League Football will begin from Thursday with two departmental teams Tribhuvan Army Club and Mahendra Police Club (MPC) lie on top of the standings.

The Army club lead the standings with only better goal difference than the MPC. Both the clubs, with 35 points each, are nine points clear from third-placed Nabil Three Star Club (26). Armed Police Force (APF) Club (25), Friends Club (24) and Manang Marsyangdi (23) lie fourth, fifth and sixth.

The bottom four teams Jawalakhel, Saraswoti, BrigadeBoys and Boys’ Union will fight for their survival.

The Army Club and MPC have to keep up their tempo while Three Star, APF and MMC will have to improve their game to stay in the race for the championship. The same intense competition is also among the players to win G-5 motorcycle.

Yamaha India Limited has continued awarding the best six individuals of the league — best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, forward, coach and highest goal scorer. Apart the six motorcycles, the company has also announced a G-5 for a spectator who guesses the correct names of this year’s G-5 award winners.

There will be a tough fight in all six categories and it wouldn’t be easy to guess the winners until the last match.