Rupandehi win Nepalgunj Gold Cup

Nepalgunj, March 16

Agni Rupandehi-XI defeated CMG Club Sankata in sudden death to win the Tuborg second Nepalgunj Gold Cup here today.

The match was decided in the third attempt in sudden death after both the teams played a 1-1 draw in the regulation period and they remained deadlocked at 4-4 in penalty shootout. Gaurav Budhathoki converted his kick from the spot for Rupandehi after Sankata’s Lawal Olalekan struck against the post in sudden death.

Raj Paudel of Sankata failed to score, while Ajay BK of Rupandehi was denied by goalkeeper Ajay Maharjan in the first attempt of sudden death, while Ajayi Martins of Sankata and Ajay Thapa of Rupandehi converted their kicks in the second attempt.

In tie-breaker, Shiva Subedi, Uttam Gurung, Kalu Thapa and Laxman Ruchal scored for Rupandehi, while Saurabh Magar hit the woodwork. Sushil KC, Bishwo Adhikari, Kalu Deepak Karki and Bhushan Subba scored for Sankata, while skipper Ravi Silwal failed to convert the winning penalty.

Earlier, Sankata took the lead in the 65th minute through Anil Gurung’s penalty before Shiva Subedi of Rupandehi scored the equaliser one minute before the final whistle. The loss meant Sankata missed the chance to win their fourth title of the season and become the most successful club in the current season. Sankata, Manang Marshyangdi Club and Tribhuvan Army Club have won three titles each.

With the win, Rupandehi got Rs 500,000, while Sankata received Rs 251,000. Amar Dangol of Rupandehi was adjudged the best player and received a Suzuki motorcycle, while his teammates Musha and Gaurav Budhathoki were named the best defender and midfielder respectively. Likewise, Ajay Maharjan of Sankata was declared the best goalkeeper, while his teammate Ajayi Martins took the best forward’s award. Sankata’s Salyan Khadki was named the best coach. The best individuals got Rs 5,000 each.

A total of eight teams took part in the event organised by Banke District Football Association under the sponsorship of Gorkha Brewery.