ANFA announces Rs 5 lakh reward to each member of Bangabandhu winning Nepal team

KATHMANDU: The All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) announced that it would award Rs 500,000 cash reward to each member of the national football team that lifted the Bangabandhu Gold Cup trophy on Friday.

ANFA made the announcement on Twitter.

ANFA announces Rs. 500,000 as cash reward each to all the players of the triumphant team.

— (@theanfacom) January 22, 2016

Bringing an end to the 23-year trophy drought, Nepal's national team won the prestigious international tournament, named after modern Bangladesh's father of the nation Sheikh Mujibur Rahman who was popularly known as Bangabandhu, in Dhaka this evening.

Nepal defeated Bahrain U-23 3-0 at the Bangabandhu International Stadium where Nepal had won the title of South Asian Games football in 1993.

Nepali team won a prize of USD 50,000 with the trophy.

Bimal Gharti Magar, Bishal Rai and Nawayug Shrestha scored one each to guide Nepal to the spectacular victory at the Bangabandhu International Stadium. Nepal were the only team to be unbeaten in the tournament.

Victory Parade

Meanwhile, the Nepali team will take part in a victory parade in Kathmandu tomorrow.

In celebration of Nepal's victory, the players and officials and the supporters will take part in a rally from the Tribhuvan International Aiport upon the team's arrival tomorrow.

The rally will pass through Gaushala, Old Baneshwar, New Baneshwar, Singhadarbar, Sahidgate, New Road, Ratnapark , Bhadrakali  and Tripureshwar before converging into a function at the Dasharath Stadium, according to ANFA.