Nepal national football team players

Nepal national football team players and officials after being felicitated by Nepal Armed Police Force in Kathmandu on Monday. Photo: THT
Kathmandu, February 1 Nepal Armed Police Force felicitated the winners of the Bangabandhu Gold Cup Football Tournament here at the APF headquarters today. Acting Inspector General Durja Kumar Rai handed over felicitation letters and track suits to the 23 players and four officials. Recalling his playing days, the volleyball international Rai said: “If we work hard, we can win any tournament. If we remain united, we can defeat any team and you have proved that by winning the tournament in Bangabandhu Gold Cup.” Rai said the players should feel proud to get the opportunity to carry national flag and represent the nation. “Only few people get that chance,” he said. Rai also bade farewell to the APF players selected for the 12th South Asian Games, which is beginning in Guwahati and Shillong of India on February 5. A total of 59 athletes have been picked in various national teams for the SA Games. “The number shows that we have invested a lot in Nepali sports,” Rai added. “Winning and losing are the parts of game but as a player you should not give up.” The Biraj Maharjan-led football team had lifted the international trophy after 23 years in Bangladesh. Other members of the squad included Bikesh Kuthu, Alan Neupane, Amrit Chaudhary, Aditya Chaudhary, Ananta Tamang, Robin Shrestha, Dinesh Rajbansi, Man Bahadur Tamang, Kamal Shrestha, Jangbu Sherpa, Tej Tamang, Bikram Lama, Bishal Rai, Heman Gurung, Jagajeet Shrestha, Prakash Budhathoki, Anjan Bista, Bimal Gharti Magar, Nawayug Shrestha, Ranjan Bista, Sunil Bal and Suman Lama. Manager Birat Jung Shahi, coach Bal Gopal Maharjan, goalkeeping coach Upendra Man Singh and physio Raju Dahal were also felicitated on the occasion.