Nepal APF Club defeated Sudurpashchim Province by eight wickets and won the title of the Lalitpur Mayor Women's Championship here today.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss at the Tribhuvan University Stadium, Sudurpashchim Province posted 106-7 in their allotted 20 overs before APF raced to 109-2 with 22 balls to spare.

Chasing a target of 110 runs, APF openers Jyoti Pandey and Sita Rana Magar put up 69 runs in 11 overs before both the batters were run out in the space of 10 runs. Pandey top scored for the team with 36 off 38 balls that included five boundaries, while the departmental side skipper Rana Magar struck four fours in her 32-ball 27.

Pandey was later named the player of the match, Indu Barma and Mamta Chaudhary then took the team home without further loss adding 30 runs for the unbroken third wicket. Barma remained unbeaten on 19 off 21 balls, while Chaudhary scored 15 not out off just nine balls. Both the unbeaten batters struck two fours each.

Earlier, Sudurpashchim Province rode on 44 runs from Bindu Rawal to post the fighting total. Rawal top scored in the match and her unbeaten 54-ball knock included four boundaries.

Rawal and Dolly Bhatta shared a 30-run partnership for the second wicket after Sudurpashchim lost opener Rewati Dhami (10) with just 14 runs on the board. Bhatta struck one each four and six in her 12-ball 14.

Kabit Kunwar was the only other batter who contributed in double figures for Sudurpashchim Province. The middle and lower order batters failed to add runs as they lost five wickets for 40 runs in eight overs. Rekha Rawal, Karuna Bhandari, Sushma Bhandari, Sita Rana Magar and Binu Budha Magar took one wicket each for APF.

Champions APF earned Rs 300,000, while runners-up Sudurpashchim Province received Rs 150,000. APF skipper Sita Rana Magar was declared the player of the series and she earned Rs 25,000, while her teammate Binu Budha Magar was named the best bowler. Province-1 skipper Rubina Chhetri bagged the best batter's award. Budha Magar and Chhetri earned Rs 15,000 each.

A total of five teams took part in the tournament organised by Cricket Association of Nepal under the sponsorship of Lalitpur Metropolitan City.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 11, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.