Army prevail over Police in departmental derby

Kathmandu, November 23

Tek Bahadur Budhathoki scored the solitary goal as Tribhuvan Army Club defeated Nepal Police Club 1-0 in the Pulsar Martyrs Memorial A Division League here today.

Budhathoki found the back of the nets in the 31st minute when his skipper Bharat Khawas cleverly left for the ball for him following a cross from Tanka Basnet. Budhathoki collected the ball inside the six-yard box and dodged goalkeeper to score in an open net.

TAC skipper Khawas tried his luck with an acrobatic shot in the 18th minute but he missed the target, while Tek Bahadur Budhathoki failed to give proper direction to the ball five minutes later.

NPC came close to levelling the scores moments before the first half whistle but Nir Kumar Rai ended up with a wayward shot from the penalty box. Also, Santosh Tamang’s attempt from the area went inches wide.

NPC created a couple of chances in the second half but they failed to find the equaliser. TAC defender Suman Aryal rescued his team with a goalline clearance to stop Bikram Dhital’s header following a corner from Bharat Shah. Goalkeeper Bikesh Kuthu then made sure TAC walk away with full three points with a brilliant save to stop a powerful attempt from Bharat Shah.

With their second win, TAC moved to third position with seven points, while NPC — who faced their first defeat in the tournament — have four points from three matches.

BBC stun APF

Brigade Boys Club came from a goal down to beat Nepal APF Club 3-1. After a goalless first half, Roop Bahadur Lama put APF ahead in the 60th minute when his shot from outside the penalty area kissed the net taking a slight deflection to BBC defender.

The APF joy shortlived as BBC levelled the scores three minute later through Manoj Rai’s stunning free kick from 20 yards out. BBC took a 2-1 lead in the 69th minute when Tazudeen Adukunee scored from the six-yard box and Kazzen Kazzeen Adegoke extended the lead with a goal from outside the box.

APF were reduced to 10 men in the 89th minute after Biswas Udas got straight red card. With their first win, BBC earned three points, while APF have four points from three matches.

Sankata win

CMG Club Sankata maintained their winning streak and moved to second position following their 2-0 victory over Machhindra Football Club. Nitin Thapa and Amit Tamang scored a goal each for Sankata in the second half after both the teams failed to find back of the nets before the break.

Thapa opened the scoring in the 64th minute with a diving header following a cross from Laxman Ruchal. Sankata doubled the lead in the 85th minute from the spot. Machhindra goalkeeper Deep Karki brought down Cedric Aba inside the box and Tamang converted the resulting penalty to ensure the team’s third straight victory.

Sankata are level on nine points with Signature Manang Marshyangdi Club at the top of the table but the latter are ahead on superior goal difference. Likewise, Machhindra — who faced their first defeat in three matches — have four points.