Bagmati and Karnali Province registered wins in the Wai Wai U-19 National Cricket Tournament here today.

Karnali defeated Lumbini by 140 runs at the TU Stadium.

Batting first, Karnali amassed 232-8 in their allotted 50 overs before packing Lumbini for a paltry 92 runs in 23.5 overs. Karnali made a slow start and lost opener Manish Thapa (naught) in the first over and Bipin Rawal departed for 26-ball 32 that included four boundaries and a six. Skipper Nischal Rawal and Suwash Ayer then added 122 runs for the third wicket before they were dismissed in the space of eight runs. Ayer top scored with 76 off 90 balls hitting nine boundaries and three sixes, while Rawal struck five fours in his 99-ball 44.

Prakash Jaishi contributed 25, while Sandip Shahi (10) also scored in double figures.

Durgesh Gupta took 4-45 for Lumbini, while Bishal Nikram KC grabbed two wickets and Mohammad Husen and Wasir Ahmed pocketed one each.

In reply, Lumbini were never in contention and they lost wickets at regular interval.

Prajjwol Thapa top scored for the team with 28, while Durgesh Gupta made 20 and opener Aakash Tripathi contributed 15. Other batsmen failed to score in double figures. Prakash Jaishi was the pick of the Karnali bowlers taking 5-43 and he also earned the player-ofthe-match award, while Yunish Singh grabbed 3-8 and Anuj Chanara claimed 2-32.

In another match, Bagmati beat Gandaki by 75 runs at the Mulpani grounds. Batting first, Bagmati were all out for 213 runs in 48.5 overs before packing Gandaki for 138 runs in 43.3 overs.

Bibek Rana Magar top scored for Bagmati with 89 off 111 balls that included 11 boundaries and three sixes, while Pratish GC struck two each fours and sixes in his 13-ball 12. Pratik Shrestha (17), Krish Karki (15), Sakriya Raj Karki (14 not out) and Bipin Shahi (13) also contributed in double figures. Sudip Aryal, Kamal Pariyar and Avishek Thapa took three wickets each for Gandaki.

In reply, Arjun Kumal fought a lonely battle for Gandaki scoring 55 of 94 balls hitting six boundaries and a six, while Subash Bhandari (13), Sujan Gautam (13) and Kamal Pariyar (10) were the only other batters who contributed in double figures.

Pratish GC (3-32) and Tilak Bahadur Bhandari (3-16) shared six wickets between them for Bagmati, while Gautam KC, Sakriya Raj Karki and Pratik Shrestha grabbed one each. Bibek Rana Magar of Bagmati was named the player of the match.

A version of this article appears in the print on November 25, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.