Bahrabise triumph

KATHMANDU: Bahrabise Municipality defeated Chandrapur Municipality 1-0 to register their third consecutive victory in the Deputy Mayor Cup Inter-municipality Women’s National Football Tournament here at the Nepal APF Club on Tuesday.

Anu Rai scored the solitary goal of the match in the 43rd minute to seal victory for Bahrabise. With the win, Bahrabise accumulated nine points and are tied with Chandrapur, who needed a draw to earn the semi-final berth. But the loss meant Chandrapur, who faced their first defeat after winning the first three matches, might be eliminated from the league stage as only the group winners progress to the last four.

In the match between two already eliminated teams, Ghorahi Tulsipur thrashed Shambhunath 10-0.

Mamata Pun Magar scored nine goals alone, while Tika KC netted one for the winners. Meanwhile, Godavari Municipality earned a walkover win from Bhimeshwor Municipality.

According to the organisers, Bhimeshwor Municipality, who faced defeats in first three matches, did not report at the venue and the whereabouts of the team was still unknown.