Balmiki triumph

BHAIRAHAWA: Balmiki Siksha Sadan of Chitwan recorded win in the Expert School Cricket League here at the Siddhartha Stadium on Sunday.

Balmiki defeated Siddhartha Sishu Sadan of Kailali by 40 runs. Put into bat first, Balmiki scored 101-9 in their allotted 20 overs before Siddhartha were packed for 61 runs in 14.4 overs.

Balmiki’s Sandesh Sapkota contributed 39 off 36 balls. Saurav Hamal claimed three wickets for Siddhartha. In reply, Siddhartha failed to reach the target as Binod Khatri was the lone batsman to reach double figures with 15 runs. Sulav Baral, Samir Adhikari and Ashish Lamsal claimed two wickets each for Balmiki. Meanwhile, Rajan Memorial School of Kathmandu and Shree Satyabati School of Tanahu shared points after their match ended in a tie. Batting first, Rajan Memorial scored 106-7 riding on Sujan Rayamajhi’s 44 runs. In reply, Shree Satyabati also scored 106-7. Shital Sunar scored 35 runs for Satyabati.