Baluwatar, Yangal in final

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, May 10:

Baluwatar Training Centre (BTC) and Yangal Cricket Club entered the final of the U-15 Kathmandu District Cricket Tournament. In the day’s semi-final held at Tribhuvan University Stadium, Baluwatar Training Centre defeated Baneshwor Height Cricket Club by eight wickets, while Yangal defeated baluwatar Cricket Club (BCC) by one wicket. In the first match, Baneshwor scored 159 runs losing nine wickets in 30 overs after they won the toss and decided to bat first. Skipper Ashik KC top-scored with 82 off 84 balls, while Amit KC and Santosh Poudel scored 16 and 14 runs respectively. For BTC, Deepak Chhetri took four wickets conceding 40 runs in six overs.

In reply, Sunam Gautam scored an unbeaten 98 off just 57 balls and Binod Thapaliya scored unbeaten 35 off 26 balls as Baluwatar overcame the target losing two wickets in 15.2 overs. Santosh Poudel and Sujan KC took one wicket apiece for Baneshwor. In the second semi-final, opting to bat first after winning the toss, Baluwatar Cricket Club scored 122 runs losing eight wickets in their stipulated 30 overs. Atul Pandey top-scored in the innings with unbeaten 34 runs, while Nishesh KC scored 22 runs. Ganesh Chand and Karan Chand scored 19 and 18 runs respectively.

For Yangal, Sailesh Raj Bhandari took four wickets conceding 37 runs in six overs. In reply, Yangal Cricket Club overcame the target losing nine wickets in 28.2 overs. Rahul Goyal remained unbeaten on 46 runs, while Gyanendra Malla scored 21 runs. For BCC, Ram Shrestha took four wickets conceding 12 runs in six overs, while Bijendra Shrestha pocketed two wickets. The final is on Thursday.