Bhairahawa cruise to final

Birgunj, October 22:

Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) entered the final of the Sintez MM Twenty20 National Cricket Tournament with a six-wicket win over Region No 2 (Birgunj) here today.

Election to bat first, Birgunj were dismissed for 81 runs in the last ball of their innings. Bhairahawa overcame the total losing four wickets in 17.2 overs. Skipper Binod Das top-scored with 41 runs for Birgunj while Anil Mandal contributed 23-ball 16. Das struck four sixes and two boundaries. Pratap Maharjan, who scored an explosive half century in quarter-final against Baitadi on Tuesday, was cheaply dismissed for one. Man of the match Bijay Thapa, Lal Bahadur Adhikari and Rahul BK took two wickets each while Shakti Gauchan and Sagar Khadka picked up one apiece for Bhairahawa.

In reply, Dipendra Lamgade scored 28 from 32 balls to ease Bhairahawa’s run chase. Antim Thapa chipped in with 16 and Sagar Khadka with 12 runs. Sanjam Regmi took two while Sanjog Karna and Raj Mohammed bagged one wicket apiece for Birjung.

Region No 1 (Biratnagar) will meet Region No 3 (Kathmandu) in the second semi-final on Thursday.