Gladiators, Warriors make it two in a row

Kathmandu, December 11

Bhairahawa Gladiators and Biratnagar Warriors registered their second straight victories, while Pokhara Rhinos and Chitwan Tigers suffered third consecutive defeats in the TVS Everest Premier League here at the TU Stadium today.

In the day’s first match, Warriors defeated Rhinos in one-over eliminator after both the teams were tied on 84 runs in their allotted 20 overs. Batting first, Rhinos posted 84-7 before packing Warriors for 84 all out with three balls to spare.

Warriors’ hitman Karan KC faced all six balls in the super over and scored 20 runs including two sixes off Paul Coughlin. In reply, Rhinos managed just 13 runs despite one each six and four from Binod Bhandari off Roelof van der Merwe.

Earlier, Warriors skipper Paras Khadka decided to come to chase the below-par total along with Anil Kumar Sah but that move just did not click. Warriors were reduced to 28-4 in 6.3 overs. They were nicely poised at 54-5 in 11 overs before the Warriors collapsed to 84 all out.

Aasif Sheikh top scored for Warriors with 13-ball 19 hitting four boundaries, while man-of-the-match Karan KC was the next best scoring 15 off 19 balls that included one each six and four. Robeen Chhetri (12), Hari Chauhan (12 not out) and Roelof van der Merwe (11) all scored in double figures but failed to take the team home.

Bipin Khatri was the pick of the Rhinos bowlers taking 3-15, while Susan Bhari, Bikram Sob and Paul Coughlin took two wickets each. Veteran Shakti Gauchan claimed one wicket.

Coughlin was the top scorer for Rhinos with 27-ball 20, while Rajesh Pulami Magar (17) was the only other batsman to score in double figures. Netherlands cricketers Paul van Meekeren (3-17) and Roelof van der Merwe (2-20) for Warriors snared five wickets, while Smit Patel and Basant Regmi took one wicket each.

In another match, Gladiators defeated Tigers by 12 runs. Batting first, Sharad Vesawkar-led Gladiators were bowled out for 143 runs, while Tigers reached 131-9. Netherlands cricketer Ryan ten Doeschate struck a four and three sixes as he top scored for Gladiators with 25-ball 35.

Opener Pradeep Airee scored 18-ball 26 hitting three fours and six, while Indian recruit Ravi Inder Singh scored 21-ball 25 with the help of three boundaries. Aarif Sheikh (18) and Puneet Mehra (12) also scored in double figures. Gladiators panicked in the latter part of their innings and lost last six wickets for just 28 runs in almost five overs.

Sagar Dhakal was the pick of the Tigers bowlers taking 3-28, while George Scott claimed 2-13. Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Singh Bhandari and Paul Stirling pocketed one wicket each.

In reply, Tigers got off to flying start with openers Stirling and Sandeep Sunar (nine) putting 49 runs in just four overs. They lost both the batsmen in the space of four runs and skipper Prithu Baskota, Dipendra Singh Airee and Bhim Sarki fell cheaply. Stirling top scored with 38 off just 23 balls hitting five boundaries and two sixes.

John Simpson and Dilip Nath (12) tried to steady the innings and they took the team past three figures. But again, Tigers lost three wickets in the space of three runs and never recovered. Simpson scored 22-ball 26 hitting two sixes, while Shahab Alam struck a six in his 24-ball 16.

Gladiators skipper Vesawkar (2-24) and Ravi Inder Singh (2-23) shared four wickets between them, while man-of-the-match ten Doeschate, Bhim Sarki and Avinash Bohara took one wicket each.

Lalitpur Patriots, Gladiators and Warriors accumulated four points each and they are separated by net run rate, while Kathmandu Kings XI have two. Both Rhinos and Tigers are yet to open their accounts and risk early elimination following their third straight defeats.