Bhairahawa in semis

Kathmandu, March 18:

Region No-IV (Bhairahawa), Region No-V (Nepalgunj) and Region No-III (Kathmandu) advanced to the semi-finals of the Wai Wai U-19 National Cricket Tournament today.

Bhairahawa made it to the last four as Group ‘B’ winners after recording their second consecutive victory over Region No-VI (Baitadi) at the TU Stadium whereas Nepalgunj and Kathmandu advanced after Region No-I (Biratnagar) lost their second straight Group ‘A’ match today. Thursday’s winner between Region No-II (Birgunj) and Baitadi will join Bhairahawa in the last four from Group ‘B’ while the match between Kathmandu and Nepalgunj will decide the Group ‘A’ leader the same day.

At the TU Stadium, Bhairahawa defeated Baitadi by three wickets. Baitadi were restricted for 82 runs in 30.1 overs and Bhairahawa overcame the total for the loss of seven wickets in 21.1 overs.

In another match in Bhaktapur, Nepalgunj defeated Biratnagar by three wickets. Biratnagar made 192-9 in 50 overs with Sunny Pun scoring a fluent 70 off 92 balls. In reply, Nepagunj chased the total losing seven wickets with seven balls to spare. Nepagunj lost opener Rupesh Sharma (naught) at 15-1 before Shahid Riza and Bidhan Giri revived their innings with 88-run stand. Riza made 61 off 57 ball while Giri scored a patient 43.