Biratnagar beat Birgunj in opener

Birgunj, October 14:

Region No 1 (Biratnagar) defeated Region No 2 (Birgunj) by six wickets in the inaugural match of the Sintez MM Twenty20 National Cricket Tournament here today.

Batting first after winning the toss at the Narayani Stadium, the home team was bowled out for 104 runs in 18.5 overs, while Biratnagar overcame the target losing four wickets in 17.3 overs.

Man of the match Kushal Tuladhar of Biratnagar top-scored with 45 runs, while Pawan Das contributed 30 runs after Ajay Rajbanshi and Puspa Thapa were out for ducks. Sanjog Karna took two wickets for Birgunj. Earlier, Birgunj crossed the three digits riding on skipper Binod Das’ unbeaten 34 off 28 balls that included a six. Hasim Ansari scored 19-ball 20.

Ajay Rajbanshi, Raj Kumar Pradhan and Mehboob Alam took two wickets each for Biratnagar, while Manjeet Shrestha and Santosh Baral claimed one each.

On Wednesday, Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) will take on Region No 6 (Baitadi) and Birgunj will play against Region No 5 (Nepalgunj) at the same venue.

A total of six regional teams are taking part in the tournament recognised by Cricket Association of Nepal. Dr Upendra Mahato, president of NRN Federation, inaugurated the tournament. Minister for Youth and Sports Gopal Shakya was also present on the occasion.