Birta United win title

PHIDIM: Birta United Club of Jhapa won the title of the first Panchathar Gold Cup Football Tournament here at the Phidim HS School Ground on Saturday.

Birta United defeated Nepal APF of Damak 4-2 in penalty shootout to win the title. The match was headed for tie-breaker after both teams played goalless draw in the regulation period of 90 minutes. Bishal Rai, Buddha Chemjong, Rajan Shrestha and Bikki Chaudhary converted their shots for Birta United, while only Buddha Raj Rai and Sushil Rai scored for APF.

Champions Birta United got Rs 150,000, while runners-up APF received Rs 100,000. Birta United’s Dinesh Thapa was named the best goalkeeper, while Bishal Rai was the highest scorer. APF’s Buddhi Man Tamang was adjudged the best forward.