Rai, Chhetri win Sports Awards

Birtamod, January 21

Footballer Bishal Rai and cricketer Rubina Chhetri won the Player of the Year awards under the Jhapa Sports Award organised by Jhapa Coordination Committee of Nepal Sports Journalists Forum today.

Rai won men’s category award leaving behind fellow footballer Yogesh Gurung and chess player Bhupendra Niraula. Similarly, cricketer Chhetri won the award ahead of karateka Estar Rai and boxer Sulab Magar.

Footballer Devendra Tamang bagged the Youth Player of the Year award. He was nominated along with another football player Pujan Uparkoti and cricketer Sabnam Rai. Cricket coach Manoj Katuwal was declared the Coach of the Year, ahead of Sanjay Rai (football) and Sita Rai (karate).

Jhapa-XI Football Club got the people’s choice award. Milan Cricket Club and Birtamod United FC  were also in the race. The winners of all categories got Rs 15,000 each. NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista among others handed over the prizes to the winners of the first edition of the award ceremony organised in Jhapa.