Blasters edge past Warriors in super over; Dhangadhi Blues win

Pokhara, December 16

Butwal Blasters defeated Kathmandu Golden Warriors in super over, while Dhangadhi Blues beat Biratnagar Titans by five runs in the Namaste Pokhara Premier League matches here at the Pokhara Stadium today.

The match between Blasters and Warriors was decided in one-over elimination after both the teams were tied at 140 runs in 20 overs. In super over, Blaster scored 12 runs, while Warriors managed just two.

Earlier, Warriors posted 140-6 before Blasters reached 140-7.

Batting first, Warriors openers Jaykrishan Kolsawala and Subash Khakurel (15) put in 38 runs in six overs before they lost three wickets in the space of 12 runs.

They were reduced to 69-6 in 14 overs before Pawan Sarraf scored a quick fire 37 not out to rescue the team. Sarraf struck three fours and two sixes in his 21-ball knock. Kolsawala scored 28 off 24 balls with the help of three fours and a six, while Aadil Khan struck one each four and six in his 15-ball 23.

Skipper Gyanendra Malla (15) and Amar Singh Routela (14 not out) chipped in with valuable runs. Nitesh Thapa took 2-17 for Blasters, while Hari Chauhan and Abinash Bohara grabbed one wicket each.

In reply, the Blasters were on course of victory with the team needing 10 runs from the last two overs but Suboth Bhati claimed two wickets in the 19th over conceding just one run and Pawan Sarraf dismissed Bipin Khatri in the last ball to force the super over.

Man-of-the-match Harsh Tonk top scored for Blasters with 29-ball 45 that included three each fours and sixes, while Shivam Singh struck two boundaries and three sixes in his unbeaten 33 off 21 balls. Shankar Rana (20), Aftabuddin Ahmed (14), Bhim Sharki (13) and skipper Sompal Kami (11) all got good starts but failed to convert their knocks.

Bhati and Sushan Bhari grabbed two wickets each for Warriors, while Surya Tamang, Amar Singh Routela and Pawan Sarraf got one apiece.

In another match, Blues posted 117-8 in 20 overs and restricted Titans to 112-9. Tailender Kamal Singh Airee was the top scorer for Blues with an unbeaten 26 off 21 balls that included two each fours and sixes, while Srimantha Wijeyeratne scored run-a-ball 25 hitting four boundaries and a six.

Rodrigo Thomas (16), Saurav Khanal (12) and manjeet Shrestha (11) also scored in double figures. Shahab Alam was the pick of the Titans bowlers taking 3-30, while Noman Khan grabbed two wickets.

In reply, Titans lost openers Muhammad Zaid Alam and Dilip Nath with just three runs on the board and never recovered.

Raju Rijal was the top scorer with 22-ball 25, while Sunil Dhamala (18) was the second best. Blues skipper Dipendra Singh Airee took 3-19 and that earned him the man-of-the-match award, while Sagar Dhakal claimed 2-23.