Nepal | December 06, 2019

Brigade Boys Club beat NPC, defend Lalit Memorial crown

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, July 21

Brigade Boys Club defended the title of the Lalit Memorial U-18 Football Championship here at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

Birjesh Chaudhary scored the solitary goal of the match as BBC defeated Nepal Police Club 1-0 in the final of the fourth edition of the tournament.

Chaudhary found the back of the nets in the 23rd minute of the match to seal the victory for the defending champions. Tribhuvan Army Club had won the first two editions of the tournament.

With the trophy, BBC received Rs 300,000, while NPC pocketed Rs 150,000.

BBC also dominated the individual awards winning three out of five honours.

Birjesh Chaudhary was named the best forward, while Shishir Lekhi was declared the best midfielder and Subit Karki got the best coach award.

Bishal Sunar of TAC was named the best goalkeeper, while Bishal Basnet took the best defender’s award. The five individual award winners received Rs 10,000 each.

A total of 14 teams, youth sides of ‘A’ division clubs of the country, took part in the tournament organised by All Nepal Football Association in memory of its acting president Lalit Krishna Shrestha, who died of electrocution at his residence in 2015. National Sports Council Member Secretary Ramesh Kumar Silwal and ANFA President Karma Tsering Sherpa among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

A version of this article appears in print on July 22, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: